Archives of Macao presents the exhibition “Pirates in the Waters of Macao” in August

Date : 11/08/2020

Organized by the Archives of Macao (AM), under the auspices of the Cultural Affairs Bureau, the exhibition “Pirates in the Waters of Macao (1854-1935)”, will be held from 19 August 2020 to 31 January 2021, presenting the phenomenon of piracy in the surrounding waters of Macao and the multiple meanings it had for Macao. All are welcome to visit.

The word “pirate” conjures up the stereotype of adventures, romances, cruelties and barbarities, which is a set of social representations cultivated fundamentally by literature and the film industry. However, with a deeper study, one can see that “piracy” is a particularly complex subject. The exhibition “Pirates in the Waters of Macao (1854-1935)” is a project that aims, on the one hand, to encourage the public and researchers’ interest in the study and investigation of this subject and to give an account of the different dimensions of the phenomenon of piracy as a social practice in a much wider political, economic, social and cultural system; and, on the other hand, to showcase a particularly rich collection of documentation preserved in AM.

The exhibition features a selection of over 100 documents, maps and photographs from AM’s collection that addresses the theme of piracy in the Pearl River Delta region, thereby revealing the diversity and thematic amplitude of the documentation, as well as developing knowledge about the multiple meanings of the phenomenon of piracy for Macao in the second half of the 19th century to the first decades of the 20th century.

The exhibition is open from 10am to 6pm and is closed on Mondays and public holidays. The Archives of Macao is located at No. 91-93, Avenida do Conselheiro Ferreira de Almeida, Macau. For details, please visit AM’s website at www.archives.gov.mo or contact AM at 2859 2919 during office hours.

 

https://igallery.icm.gov.mo/image/IC--182033--650.jpg

 

https://igallery.icm.gov.mo/image/IC--182034--650.jpg

 

https://igallery.icm.gov.mo/image/IC--182035--650.jpg

澳門檔案館8月辦澳門水域的海盜展覽

刊登日期 : 11/08/2020

 文化局轄下澳門檔案館即將舉辦“澳門水域的海盜 (1854-1935)”展覽,以歷史檔案展示澳門水域的海盜活動,及其對澳門的多重意涵。展期為2020年8月19日至2021年1月31日,歡迎市民參觀。

一般人對“海盜”的固有印象如冒險、浪漫、殘暴、嗜血等,往往源自文學和影視作品。然而,經深入的研究發現,“海盜”是一項非常複雜的課題。是次展覽“澳門水域的海盜 (1854-1935)”一方面旨在引起公眾和學界對海盜主題的研究興趣,從不同層面探討作為一種綜合性社會活動的海盜現象,其在廣義的政治、經濟、社會、文化體系中扮演的角色;另一方面向公眾展示澳門檔案館珍藏的豐富文獻資源。展覽從澳門檔案館館藏檔案中挑選一百多件與珠江三角洲地區海盜活動有關的檔案文獻、歷史地圖及照片,展示檔案的多様性及相關主題的廣泛性,並增進大眾認識有關十九世紀後半葉至二十世紀初期澳門水域的海盜活動,及其對澳門的多重意涵。

展覽開放時間為上午10時至下午6時,逢星期一及公眾假期暫停開放。澳門檔案館位於澳門荷蘭園大馬路91至93號,詳情可瀏覽澳門檔案館網頁www.archives.gov.mo,或於辦公時間致電2859 2919查詢。

 

 

https://igallery.icm.gov.mo/image/IC--182033--650.jpg

1910年路環島打擊海盜行動中逮捕的海盜

https://igallery.icm.gov.mo/image/IC--182034--650.jpg

前往路環打擊海盜的澳門號”炮艦

https://igallery.icm.gov.mo/image/IC--182035--650.jpg